Poetic Justice and Such

Recently, for work, I’ve been added to this weekly meeting of the minds. There are 8 of us from different disciplines within the agency who will now gather on Tuesdays for creative sharing and internal communications. Anyway, we were given three prompts, one of which was to bring something along that really inspired you, then show-and-tell about it. I found this goldmine by Fly Art, after the meeting. Ancient masterful pieces that adorn the likes of the Louvre serve as the conduit for lyrics that were written centuries later. It’s kind of like graffiti but a lot less destructive. Some enthusiasts might be offended by the people at Fly Art’s embellishments to the works of the Greats, but I think it’s pretty incredible. So incredible, in fact, that I was inspired to make one of my own. I’m not that into hip hop, so I featured one of my favorites from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs instead.

Screen shot 2014-07-08 at 5.10.16 PM

Benjamin West (American, 1738–1820). Omnia Vincit Amor, or The Power of Love in the Three Elements, 1809. Featuring the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Gold Lion, from Show Your Bones. 

Leave a Reply

