Purge…

You know the way you feel after Thanksgiving weekend, when you’re struggling to remember the exact items that equated to your excessive consumption? That sick feeling of being overly stuffed for several days in a row – I think cooks call it gaver, or at least they do when it’s done to a duck…As your pants fight to remain buttoned, you try to remember the last time you were hungry. You can’t. That’s how I feel about my shopping consumption lately. I love clothes and I love stuff, no apologies. But, I can’t remember the last time I actually needed something that badly. I have engorged myself in the equivalent of a shopping feast.

After reading about the 30 for 30 challenge (inspired by Kendi’s version) several weeks back, I felt strong and inspired. I thought, I’ve got copious amounts of stuff, surely I can manage remixing 30 articles of my own clothing for 30 days. I’ll even give up shopping, I thought haughtily.  So, needless to say I failed. I suppose, perhaps, maybe just a little, I’ve gotten a tiny bit carried away lately. After all, September is my birthday month and there is the whole notion of replenishing your fall wardrobe…and the sales!  I gave up on the 30 for 30 challenge floating along happily from shop to website to my closet, assuring myself that it was all perfectly well. Then the wake-up call rang…loud. I forgot, that the watch, and shoes I happened to be wearing that day, in addition to my makeup, was new. It was disparaging, that is just not something a lady should forget…

So, naturally, I am forced to use the only solution to allay my condition…a mandatory moratorium. Effective immediately. I have devised my own version of the 30 for 30. Instead of remixing 30 items for 30 days, the overarching rule is; no shopping, wearing any, and all of my existing wardrobe, for 30 days…I think I’ll call it The Purge. Wish me luck…

4 Comments

  1. Fall clothing is so hard to resist though, isn’t it? I think it may have something to do with distant memories of school shopping or something. Good luck and I can’t wait to hear about it! I am on a little 30 day purge of my own, which consists of trying to avoid that stuffed sensation you wrote about. Sigh. Wish me luck. -kate

Leave a Reply

