Gluten Free Muffins | The Polka-dot Maven

Baking is a science…

I am what I like to call, an organic cook. I occasionally read recipes, follow them loosely, improvise, and since I’m imaginative, I generally make things up. Gluten Free baking is quite the opposite. It is a chemistry, requiring immense precision, and dedicated recipe following. Especially for novices.  You mustn’t be mislead into thinking you can make edible GF pastries with measuring cups, it requires measuring by weight. Even if the recipe calls for cups when measuring out the flours, figure out the weight on your own. Because, it is nearly always a bold face lie. Most of all, GF baking requires patience.  All qualities I struggle with in the kitchen…After several failed attempts at imaginative baking, I resigned to purchase a GF and sugar-free baking cookbook (click here to check it out). My goal is to become a master gluten free pastry chef, but I think I could settle for my creations being excitingly edible. Since fall makes me think of comfort necessities, I am beginning my journey of baking betterment with..gluten free, sugar free, pumpkin muffins…

Ingredients:

9oz almond flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla powder

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

2 large eggs

1/2 cup agave nectar

1 can of organic pumpkin puree

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Prepare your muffin pan by either lining it with paper cups, or greasing the interior. Mix all the dry ingredients in one bowl and all the wet ingredients in another. Combine them. With an ice-cream scooper, fill the cups in the pan with about 1 1/2 scoops of the mixture. Bake for 25 – 35 minutes…

They turned out perfectly; a bit like a pumpkin pie/cake meritage. I confess, I couldn’t help my self. I had to deviate from the recipe just slightly…I added vanilla and omitted the cloves and cranberries it called for. I can’t imagine not using vanilla, it has such a wonderful smooth flavor – it had to be added, and cloves are simply too reminiscent of potpourri. Since the revisions didn’t ruin the muffins, I think it’s safe to say I’m on my way to becoming a gluten free chemist, sort-of.

3 Comments

  1. Hey Krissy – I tried making this yesterday.. it turned out great! I made a few revisions myself…kept the cloves and cranberries, used vanilla extract instead of powder (couldn’t find the powder), and added chia seeds (idea courtesy of a bakery in NYC). Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

