Pre-Autumn…

Caprese Salad | The Polka-dot Maven

I confess myself a bit torn. Caught in a tumultuous struggle between the remaining days of summer and the excitement surrounding the onset of Autumn… My wardrobe and taste-buds are somewhat afflicted. The air is developing a tinge of breezy coolness, but maintaining it’s serious heat in direct sunlight. It’s 60 in the early hours of the morning but nearly 80 by noon. What to wear? A sweater with linen? Preposterous, I’ll sweat to death. A pretty skirt with short sleeves? I’ll catch a draft…Then there is the matter of food. I long for cornbread paired with soup and jalapenos. But, I’m just not ready to give up grilling and refreshing summer time sensations yet… it’s a whirlwind of confusion. So, in an attempt to straddle the figurative fence of all things deliciously fall, and fantastically summer…I vow to enjoy  as many homemade pre-fall delicacies and to make the best of mishmoshing my apparel to accommodate the odd temperatures. So, I’ve painted my nails lilac, recommitted to always carrying a scarf, and indulged in a home made summer favorite; caprese salad, which is incredibly easy to make.

What you’ll need:

  • Basil
  • 2 large tomatoes
  • Mozzarella
  • Olive oil
  • Lemon
  • A thick balsamic vinegar, sea salt/pepper

Start by slicing the tomatoes (thin-medium) and mozzarella (thin), chop two handfuls of basil coarsely, then layer the ingredients: tomato–>mozzarella–>generous pinch of basil…(repeat).

Finnish by drizzling olive oil, lemon, balsamic, and a bit of salt/pepper.

Caprese Salad | The Polka-dot Maven

Leave a Reply

